9

Indiana Philosophical Association 2021 Spring Meeting

Meeting Program

Friday, April 9

9:00-9:15	Welcome and Opening Remarks	
9:15-10:15	Keynote: Frances Moore Lappé	
10:15-10:30	Transition to Individual Society Sessions	
	Session 1: History of Philosophy Chair: Levi Tenen (Kettering U)	Session 2: Continental Philosophy Chair: Kevin Harrelson (Ball State)
10:30-11:15	"Positive Duties, Kant's Universalizability Tests, and Contradictions"	"A Non-Idealist Reading of Nietzsche's Perspectivism"
Speaker: Commentator:	Samuel Kahn (IUPUI) Alexander Buchinski (IU Bloomington)	James Mollison (Purdue University) Kevin Miles (Earlham College)
11:15-12:00 Speaker:	"Descartes on Curiosity" Christopher A. Bobier (Saint Mary's University of Minnesota)	"A Tenable Theory of the Sublime" Hyo Won Seo (Kent State University)
Commentator: 12:00-1:15	Stephen Setman (Purdue University)	Elise Frketich (Purdue University)
	IPA Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony	
1:30-3:00	IPA Keynote Address Stuart Glennan Harry T. Ice Professor of Philosophy, Butler University	
	"What shall we say caused the Capitol insurrection? Some remarks on how to select a causal explanation"	
3:00-3:15	Afternoon Break	
	Session 3: Political Thought Chair: Jeremy Anderson (DePauw U)	Session 4: Ethics Chair: Andrew Freck (Wabash College)
3:15-4:00	"Exposure and Place: Michel Foucault's Ethics as Environmental Ethics"	"The Role of Intuition in Frankfurt-Style Arguments on Moral Responsibility"
Speaker:	Strand Sheldahl-Thomason (Purdue University Fort Wayne)	Joseph A. Kranak (Wilbur Wright College)
Commentator:	Chris Davidson (Ball State University)	Kenneth Shields (University of Indianapolis)
4:00-4:45	"Meta-ontology as Normative Sociology"	"What Is 'Virtue Signaling,' & What Makes It Wrong?"
Speaker:	Patrick Rardin (Appalachian State University)	Samuel C. Bennett (Purdue University)
Commentator:	James Andrew Smith (Depauw University)	Leigh Viner (IU Southeast)



Indiana Philosophical Association Spring Meeting 2021

Meeting Program

Saturday, April 10

9:00-9:15	2 nd Day Welcome and Remarks		
9:15-10:15	Keynote: Professor David Oxtoby		
10:15-10:30	Transition to Individual Society Sessions		
	Session 5: Logic Chair: Nader Shoaibi (UIndy)	Session 6: Moral Philosophy Chair: Domenic D'Ettore (Marian U)	
10:30-11:15 Speaker: Commentator:	"A New Way to Justify the Neo- Russellian Critique of the Notion of Cause"—Graduate Prize Winner Chen Yang (Purdue University) Bradley Griggs (University of	"The Property Box Account of Slurs" Louise Williams (University of Notre Dame) Joseph Long (Butler University)	
11:15-12:00 Speaker:	Cinncinatti) "Five Modal Conditions on Justified Suspended Judgment" Peter Murphy (University of Indianapolis)	"Grounding moral error within a scientific context" Mark Herman (Arkansas State University)	
Commentator:	Jared Bates (Hanover College)	Joseph Gamache (Marian University)	
12:00-1:15	Lunch Break		
1:15-1:30	Transition to Individual Society Sessions		
	Session 7	Session 8: Special Undergraduate Papers Chair: Sarah Vitale (Ball State)	
1:30-2:15 Speaker: Commentator:		"Death Anxiety as a Human Condition"— <i>IPA Undergraduate Paper Prize First Runner-Up</i> Amanda Galloway Andrew Freck (Wabash College)	
2:15-3:00 Speaker: Commentator:		"In Defense of Storytelling"—Winner of the 2021 IPA Undergraduate Paper Prize Benjamin Brock (Ball State University) Emily Fuher (Ball State University)	
3:00-3:15	Transition to Final Conference Event		
3:15-4:45	Cross-Disciplinary Panel Discussion Moderators: Dr. Michella Marino, Ms. Joan Trendell Pannelists: Ms. Pan Pantones, State Deputy Health Commissioner Mr. Jim Shella, TV personality, author, commentator Ms. Charlotte Hawthorne, Director of Diversity and Inclusion, Eli Lilly Dr. Tabra Jackson, Dean of Education, IUPUI		
4:45-5:00	Closing Remarks		